Burned Out and Bummed Out By The Job Search


Not the Magazine

Not too long ago, my whole being snapped like a rubber band stretched too far.

I read  one article too many about  how “finding a job is a job”-probably written by somebody with a partner who agrees to carry on the “life” stuff: keeping the house clean, picking up the kids, washing the clothes, and planning the meals.

You know what?

That’s nonsense. I am not about to make looking for work a full-time job. I have come to the conclusion that I want my next job to be a part time job. Let’s see: I am a 50+ worker. I am aware time is not on my side. I have already had soul-depleting jobs that sucked up all my valuable time and energy. Why am I chasing another one?

I want meaning, balance and to enjoy life. Work, our relationship has got to change because it’s a different season in my life now. I want something else  besides waking up at 5:30 to be at a place by 9 where I sit at the computer most of the day, never seeing the sky. Forget that. It’s not for me any more…answering to people who have no idea of my value as a person let alone as a worker. No more waiting for “retirement” to do things I enjoy doing.

So, I’m not accepting any more advice to do a job search six hours a day. I’ll do four or five instead… and go to the farmer’s market or a concert on Saturdays.  The high intensity pace has gone on for too long. I am burned out and bummed out by the job search.

2 thoughts on “Burned Out and Bummed Out By The Job Search

  1. Pingback: Could a Midlife Lady be a Garage Pin-up? « VICTOREE’S BLOG: No White Flag

  2. Yo, Sista! I, too, am burned out and bummed out by the job search. Over 50 and sick of getting sucked dry with 60-hour work weeks? You bet. Now if only I could figure out a way to earn full-time money for a part-time job. Because the rent is still due in another week and I don’t see Santa coming through. It’s hard to win the lottery when you live in a state that doesn’t have a lottery. Bummer……

    Oh, well — according to the U.S. Department of Labor I’m no longer unemployed anyway. Hey, maybe Uncle Sam will pay my rent! I hope….

    Like

Comments are closed.